https://www.kaiserpermanentejobs.org

Kaiser Permanente

Summer Youth Intern

June - August 2019 • Los Angeles, CA

What I liked

My employers were very friendly and the job was very interesting. I was able to shadow doctors and nurses.

What I wish was different

I wish there was more of a hands-on experience with the patients.

Advice

Be welcoming and open up to others first.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Certified Dental Assistant

January 2019 • Keizer, OR

What I liked

Great benefits, staff is wonderful. Management has been awesome to work with

What I wish was different

Can be difficult to get time off, especially as someone low on the seniority pole. People are burnt out so there can be drama

Advice

I've worked at many dental offices and this one by far is my favorite. Dr's are patient with new students and staff is willing to help anytime when needed.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Volunteer

September 2018 - February 2020 • San Leandro, CA

What I liked

The environment and staff

What I wish was different

Only four hours a week were required but more would have been nice

Advice

Don’t be afraid to network!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Medicine

October 2017 • Long Beach, CA

What I liked

Over the summer I was able to rotate through the Urgent Care Department. I most liked being able to observe certain procedures. For instance, I was able to observe a physician extract an infected toenail.

What I wish was different

While I did enjoy observation, I wish I had been able to do it more often. Most of the time I was taking patients' vital signs and assisting the RNs with rooming patients.

Advice

Introduce yourself to anyone new and be vocal about what you're interested in!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Shadow At Kaiser Permanente Out-care

June - August 2019 • San Ramon, CA

What I liked

I enjoyed the friendly staff and optimal work environment in terms of offering Physical Therapists the tools they need to provide the care that patients deserve.

What I wish was different

I wish there was less exposure to charting, as it consisted of a large part of the day and took away from the questions that I was able to ask the Physical Therapists in the department.

Advice

Be prepared to ask a lot of questions and take constant notes to ensure you remember your experience!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Project Manager Intern

June - September 2019 • Pleasanton, CA

What I liked

Great experience!

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Certified Phlebotomy Technician

May 2019 • Fremont, CA

What I liked

teamwork

What I wish was different

nothing

Advice

Pay attention to detail, patient safety always, I.D. patient always, proper hand hygiene, tell the patient the procedure, introduce yourself and reason for being there.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Contact Lens Fitter

June 2018 • Orange, CA

What I liked

love the flexibility of hours vs school/ life balance.

What I wish was different

the interview and hiring process was very long so it was a while before I even hit the job site. had to been a falser process it would have been easier to align my education with the position and hours of availability from the begging.

Advice

read the mandatory and recommended skills/ education in the postings very closely. then follow that model. even if you come to something similar down the line, the better you fit their interests the more they are likely to hire you.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Business Project Volunteer

May - August 2019 • Harbor City, CA

What I liked

I enjoyed analyzing and summarizing data on how to improve the member's experience. I talked to a lot of members and it was always fun to hear what they have to say.

What I wish was different

I wished the manager didn't underestimate me. I knew what to look for and how to get the results, but I just felt underestimated.

Advice

Show off from what you have learned at CSUN. Whenever you feel underestimated, keep going.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Kaiser Nursing Student Extern

June - August 2019 • Redwood City, CA

What I liked

I worked with the Nursing Education unit at Kaiser Permanente Redwood City where I participated in orienting new nurses to the hospital, unit yearly nursing skills reviews and check-offs, chart reviews in relation to stroke patients, creating educational posters to nasogastric tube insertion and transition to EnFit adaptions, as well as for injection and needle safety. I also had the great opportunity to shadow a PICC nurse, wound care nurse and follow a patient from pre-operative, operating room and post-operation. I worked with the director of nursing education, the neuroscience clinical nurse specialist, med-surg/telemetry educator and the intensive care unit educator.

What I wish was different

I wish I had the chance to be placed as a clinical student nurse extern like some of my other classmates.

Advice

Take what you can get and make the most of it. I didn't know what to expect when placed on the education unit but it was a great opportunity, I met some amazing people who taught me a lot.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Reception

June 2019 • Honolulu, HI

What I liked

Coworkers are welcoming and willing to help

What I wish was different

Nothing

Advice

Great experience
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Student Nurse Intern

June - July 2019 • San Diego, CA

What I liked

Gained a lot of valuable experience.

What I wish was different

2 12 hour shifts instead of 8

Advice

Take lead, be self-directed
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Certified Pharmacy Technician

August - September 2019 • Gaithersburg, MD

What I liked

Loved the people and experience

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Student Nurse Intern

June - August 2019 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

This student nurse internship was the ideal opportunity to be able to practice my nursing skills, apply nursing theory, and also learn from experienced nurses themselves at a trusted hospital facility. I had the chance to work closely with nurses from various departments, floating among the Wound Care Team, PICC Nurses, Emergency Department, Medical-Surgical units, Intensive Care Units, and Rapid Response Team. Floating to each of these units helped me to both practice my nursing skills and also better understand the role of the nurse in each of these settings. I learned how to treat patients in life-threatening emergent situations, especially in the Emergency Department, and how to consult other nursing specialties for opinions and optimum patient care with the Wound Care Team. Nursing school does not offer students the opportunity to experience such a wide variety of specialities, so this Kaiser Student Nurse Internship was the perfect learning experience. In addition, this internship allowed me to work closely with the nursing educators. I had many opportunities to assist the nurse educators with annual nurse inservice training days, coordinating with the nurse educator to provide information on the latest technologies and updates to nursing practice. In addition, I worked closely with the nurse educators and head of the nursing department to conduct audits for quality improvement. We audited various medical-surgical floors, collecting data about patient satisfaction related to bedside manner. From this data, we were able to formulate an action plan to improve patient satisfaction through bedside handoff. I appreciated this opportunity to experience the administrative, research perspective of nursing, which I could not get from my regular nursing education.

What I wish was different

This internship sadly was only three days per week, and I would have loved the opportunity for the internship to allow me to work more than 24 hrs per week or for the internship to have extended beyond a three month period. There was still so much more I would have loved to learn about hospital policies, nursing needs, and patient outcomes, and I would have loved for the opportunity to contribute more to the facility to implement more change to benefit patient satisfaction and nurses' work flow. For myself, I wish I had sought out more opportunities and work shifts to work with the nursing specialties I could see myself pursuing. I would have shadowed more in the ICU and ED and been more bold to talk to the nurses about their experience or their own tips and tricks of the trade that they've acquired over the years.

Advice

For anyone who has the opportunity to also be a student nurse intern at the Kaiser Permanente Summer Internship Program, I encourage you to be bold to seek out every learning opportunity. If there is a department or technological device that peaks your interest, be eager to ask the staff, who are always more than willing, to teach you what you want to learn. This opportunity is so unique as you do not have the pressure to perform like you would in school, and without that stressor, the learning is more independent and conducive to your ability to retain all of this invaluable knowledge.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Emergency Department Volunteer

June 2019 • Roseville, CA

What I liked

I liked that I got to help patients who were in need of care. I also enjoyed getting hands-on experience in an environment I one day hope to work in.

What I wish was different

I wish I was able to do more as far as restrictions for volunteers go.

Advice

Make the most of your time there!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Communications Intern

June - August 2019 • Oakland, CA

What I liked

I like how I had the opportunity of working for a well known, billion dollar corporation. The people I met were amazing and the pay was above minimum wage and more than an average intern's wage.

What I wish was different

More events and more intern interaction as opposed to just sitting at a desk all day.

Advice

Just do it!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Volunteer

April 2019 • Los Angeles, CA

What I liked

Great people, meaningful work.

What I wish was different

I don't really have any complaints. It was a bit of a process to get started but so long as you are patient it wasn't bad at all

Advice

Be open about your abilities and preferences. There are so many different roles that need filling.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Mentor

June - July 2018 • Los Angeles, CA

What I liked

The exposure on applying public health techniques to potentially solve issues within the community.

What I wish was different

This program would be available for a semester (3 months) .

Advice

Ask questions to the students and staff about issues or things they would want to learn more from you or their community.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Administrative Intern

June - November 2019 • Pasadena, CA

What I liked

I worked at the regional office so it was definitely different than working a medical facility. I also learned and gained skills that are vital in being a KP employee which worked to my advantage.

What I wish was different

Nothing!

Advice

Network with people! Through this, you will learn more about departments you didn’t even think existed and may open opportunities for you.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

HR Benefits Accounting Intern

July 2019 • Oakland, CA

What I liked

Great environment for professional growth.

What I wish was different

More intern interaction.

Advice

Have fun and talk with your peers.
Be the first to mark this as helpful